I'm Just Here To Cook…and Eat!

Disney’s Mickey Beignets

Leave a comment

When you can’t be in Disney, you bring Disney to you. These beignets are a staple at the Port Orleans resort in Disney World. An ode to New Orleans, you know this delicious fried dough is the reason I wanted to book this hotel. So when Disney released the recipe during lockdown, you know it was added to my short list to try soon. It’s definitely not the same as baking in the Orlando sun enjoying these while walking back to take a dip in the pool, but it will have to do for now. Disney, I hope we meet again soon.

Mickey Mouse Shaped Beignets

Recipe from Disneyland and Disney World’s Port Orleans Resort

Ingredients

  • 1/2 tsp dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup warm water (105 degrees)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable shortening
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 egg
  • 4 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • Vegetable oil for frying
  • Powdered sugar

Directions

Mix the yeast and water in a bowl and let sit for 5 minutes to activate.

Mix together remaining ingredients. Add the yeast mixture and combine with a dough hook in a stand mixer, or knead by hand, until just mixed and smooth. Let sit for 30 minutes.

Roll the dough out to 1/4 inch thickness. Cut into 10 Mickey shapes if you have a cookie cutter or just 2 1/2 inch squares. Let sit for an hour to an hour and a half.

The recipe says heat oil in a pan (about 2-3 inches) to 350. Honestly, I did this and burned the first 2 beignets! Not sure what I did wrong, but I lowered the heat after that haha. Fry the beignets 2-3 minutes on each side. Remove onto a paper towel, and dust with powdered sugar. Serve immediately.

I won’t say how many I ate 🙂

Leave a comment