I'm Just Here To Cook…and Eat!


Leave a comment

Big Game Treats

Sunday morning thoughts… Sometimes in life, I wonder what’s truth from people and what’s not.

But food is the second thought of today. And for anyone still looking for some recipes, here are a few ones I’m trying out.

I’ve posted about this amazing bread dip I’ve been having all my life before, but today in honor of the 49ers I’m switching out the ham for lump crab meat and adding a few dashes of hot sauce. Dungeons crab is a staple in the Bay Area. This should be a touchdown! And the extra point? I found lactose free sour cream and cream cheese!

Tip! Mix all ingredients except for the crab first. Then fold in the crab so some of the larger chunks don’t get too broken up.

Can’t find a bread bowl? No problem! Heat up the dip and bread separate. Just reduce the time to 30-40 minutes

Jalapeño poppers are a big game day food, so I’m switching it up a bit with making jalapeño popper meatballs. A recipe I’ve seen in a bunch of places lately so I’m taking a bit from them all. Mix together a pound of turkey chop meat, three slices of cooked bacon chopped, 1 fresh jalapeño pepper diced, and a half cup of shredded cheddar cheese, 1 egg, 1/2 cup bread crumbs and a couple of dashes of Worcestershire sauce. Get some (lactose free) cream cheese and form a meatball around about a half a tablespoon of cream cheese. Bake in the oven at 350 for about 25-30 minutes. Yum!

Tip! If you’re using spreadable cream cheese or lactose free, make balls of cream cheese and freeze before making the meatballs. This will make it easier to form.

Serve with salsa!

And now on to rep Kansas City, even if my brother in law will hate this! (Have I mentioned he’s from the Bay Area so has an affinity to Bay Area teams?) I’m making some extra meatballs slow cooked in barbecue sauce. My sell – not everyone likes spice! (But you guys will know I’m going for the theme!)

And last but not least. Cupcakes with my favorite girl, decorated in red/gold and red/black for the teams. Sorry in advance for the heavy handed sprinkle action! No penalties for my cutie niece though 😊

All lined up and ready for game time! Even the ref is in gear 😂

Happy American Sunday!