I'm Just Here To Cook…and Eat!


Leave a comment

Rice and turkey meatballs

The best part of a family that cooks is sharing great recipes. I learned another good one from my aunt yesterday that will definitely go into my rotation. Like any good Greek, there is no real measurements, so as I went along I measured out ingredients to share with all you. The one ingredient I’ve never cooked with before is minute rice. I’ve never even ever purchased it! I like my good old tried and true cook for 20-25 minutes rice. So I had to purchase a box of this for my pantry. But none the less, this is a great dish to throw in the oven on a Sunday and have leftovers to bring for lunch! Hope you enjoy this shared family recipe as much as I did. 

Ingredients 

1 lb turkey chop meat
1/2 cup minute rice
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 tbs garlic powder
1/2 tbs onion powder
1/2 tsp chili powder
1 jar of your favorite sauce
1 bell pepper, sliced
1 small yellow onion, sliced
Salt and pepper

Directions 
In a bowl, mix together the chop meat, rice, cheese, spices and about 1/4 cup of the sauce. Form the meatballs and place in a baking dish. Sprinkle the sliced peppers and onions around the meatballs and drizzle olive oil, salt and pepper over the vegetables. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 10 – 15 minutes to begin browning the meatballs. 


Remove the baking dish from the oven and cover with the remaining sauce. Bake for another 30 minutes until cooked through. Enjoy! 

