I'm Just Here To Cook…and Eat!

A throwback to mom’s pesto

Leave a comment

I’ll be honest, I’m not really a basil person. But my mom’s pesto is the only kind I like. Maybe it’s more of a sentimental thing. Maybe it just truly is the best. Many people have asked for her recipe over the years.  A huge part of my mom’s yearly summer garden was fresh herbs, basil aways being in huge abundance. Partly bc once it starts to grow, it grows like crazy! But I’ll never forget her weekend pesto making – getting her huge food processor out from  storage and making batches upon batches that she’d freeze or give out to family and friends. I’m so glad she passed this recipe down to me, especially as she can no longer make it herself. This year, I was able to grow a small pot of basil on my front porch to make her famous pesto. 


Not the crazy growth of basil she produced every year, but it will get there! It’s been a small feat for me to remember to water it every day, but I guess it being in my face when I get home from work every day has helped! Haha. Regardless, it grew enough to make the pesto. Here’s her treasured recipe. 

Ingredients 

2 cups basil
2 cloves garlic
2 tbs pine nuts
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions 
In a food processor, pulse the basil with the garlic and pine nuts until finely minced. 


While the machine is still running, drizzle in the oil and process until smooth. Add the cheese and process briefly. I also add red pepper flakes. 


Enjoy with your favorite pasta or even over grilled chicken. My mom used to make a tortellini pesto salad for BBQs every summer. I haven’t thought about it in awhile, put it popped into my head recently. I recreated it for an extra pesto throwback. Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

