I'm Just Here To Cook…and Eat!


Leave a comment

Pasta with Shrimp and Broccoli

Here’s to eating healthy! A few months ago I bought a new cookbook – Superfoods: 50 Best Foods to Change Your Life By. It goes through 50 different foods and why they are good for you, and provides some recipes. I didn’t use the recipe for tonight’s superfood, but learned more about broccoli. Broccoli is one of the very best vegetables for you. It is a high source of vitamin C, selenium and calcium. It helps to prevent certain types of cancer because of it’s rich nutrients. And it also helps to a healthy digestive tract. Read up on broccoli and learn how to love it if you don’t. It certainly loves us!

I’ve told you, I was a weird kid and loved everything kids don’t. I ate broccoli as a kid. And it’s gone through stages. First I just ate boiled frozen broccoli. Then my mom would start steaming it, so I ate that too. Stir fry was next. Then roasting. Roasting is my absolute favorite. It brings such a yummy nutty flavor to the broccoli. This is how I made the broccoli for tonight’s dinner. It’s a simple recipe which many chefs have made or shared, but it’s good for a quick night meal with a very good superfood.

ingredients
1 head broccoli
1 clove garlic, minced
3-4 tbs extra virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper
1/2 lbs pasta
8 shrimp, peeled and deveined
Red pepper flakes.

directions
Preheat the oven to 350.

Wash the broccoli and cut off the florets. Put the florets in a glass pan with the garlic, oil, salt and pepper. Roast for about 15-20 minutes, until the broccoli begins to brown.

Meanwhile, boil a pot of water and cook the pasta to al dente.

While the broccoli and pasta cook, heat a frying pan over medium high heat. Add the shrimp coated in oil, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes. Cook 3-4 minutes on each side until pink.

When all three parts are ready, toss all together and serve. Enjoy and get healthy!
20141112-213143.jpg