I'm Just Here To Cook…and Eat!


Leave a comment

Homemade Fried Rice

Well hello! I know, it’s been awhile. In the last month I’ve been in the process of moving. And everything is still all over in my new apt. I actually haven’t been cooking much yet. And I now have an electric stove! Eeek! Something to get used to for sure. But tonight I made fried rice and it’s definitely a favorite of mine to make so I had to make sure I share this.

I love going for hibachi and I make my homemade fried rice like they do. I’ve examined many a hibachi chef carefully for some tips on how to make it delish. Here’s how!

Fried Rice

ingredients
1 mug uncooked rice
1 cup water
A few dashes of rice wine vinegar (optional)
1 small yellow onion, diced
5 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 frozen peeled edamame
Pepper and chile pepper to taste
1/8-1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce (depending how much you like)
1 tbs sesame seeds

directions
Place the rice, water and rice wine vinegar in a pot. Bring to a boil, uncover and let similar until water is absorbed. Usually I cook rice with a 1:2 ratio, but you want it a bit underdone and sticky since you’ll be cooking it more later.

Meanwhile place onion and 3 cloves garlic in a nonstick pan and sauté for 5 minutes. Add edamame about 1/2 tbs soy sauce and sauté another 5 minutes.

Add to the pan the cooked rice, remainder of the soy sauce, pepper, and chile pepper to the pan. Combine so that the rice is covered in sit sauce. Spread out over the pan and add the other two cloves of garlic and sesame seeds to the top. Turn heat up to medium high and let “fry” for a few minutes until browned. Stir and let fry a few more minutes. Enjoy!

20130523-233639.jpg